Monoposto newbie, help required

For all Monoposto Club Matters
Trev
Marshal
Marshal

Monoposto newbie, help required

Post by Trev »

Hi All

This is my first post, but I've been on the old forum before. I've toyed with the idea of Monoposto for a couple of years but due to work etc I've never been settled in one area long enough to have the time/room to compete. Well this year I am hoping to get the ball rolling but I need a bit of advice and information first.

1) What car to run and class should I look at. I am new to single seat racing I was thinking that something not too fast would be a good way to go. The sort of cars I’ve seen for sale are formula BMW, formula Renault and Van Dieman Rf’s.

Looking at some specs the formula BMW is a 1200cc and the Renault is a 2000cc. Is there much different in speed, handling characteristics etc and are either cars eligible and suitable for Monoposto.

2) How much should I budget in a season to maintain and run a typical car?

3) How easy are the cars to run, maintain and setup. Is it a job one man and his dog (couple of mates) can do or does it require a small team of mechanics etc

Any help would be much appreciated

Trev
--- Trev ---
www.warondesign.com

tristancliffe
Lifetime achievement award

Re: Monoposto newbie, help required

Post by tristancliffe »

Trev wrote:Hi All

This is my first post, but I've been on the old forum before. I've toyed with the idea of Monoposto for a couple of years but due to work etc I've never been settled in one area long enough to have the time/room to compete. Well this year I am hoping to get the ball rolling but I need a bit of advice and information first.

1) What car to run and class should I look at. I am new to single seat racing I was thinking that something not too fast would be a good way to go. The sort of cars I’ve seen for sale are formula BMW, formula Renault and Van Dieman Rf’s.